The best power tool brands depend on whether you need a starter kit, a broad cordless platform, or one tool for a specialized job. I rank DEWALT first overall for its wide range of kits and tools, with CRAFTSMAN as a strong choice for buyers seeking multi-tool sets and BLACK+DECKER for basic home repairs. The main tradeoff is between investing in a battery platform that can grow with your projects and choosing a smaller, task-focused kit that keeps things simple. This roundup also includes Greenworks, a rotary tool, and an impact wrench, which serve narrower needs than a general-purpose drill-and-driver lineup. Read on for the full comparison and guidance on which option fits your work.
Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- DEWALT leads this lineup on breadth: its choices range from a drill-and-impact-driver pair to five- and nine-tool kits, plus standalone oscillating tools.
- Kit size matters only if the tools match your projects: the DEWALT and CRAFTSMAN multi-tool sets cover more tasks, but buyers who only need drilling may prefer a smaller combo.
- BLACK+DECKER fills a different role from DEWALT: its kits suit home fixes and beginner tool needs, while DEWALT offers more options for building out a larger cordless setup.
- Some picks are specialty tools, not full brand recommendations: the rotary tool and Seesii impact wrench make sense for focused jobs, but neither replaces a general-purpose tool platform.
- Battery and charger details change the value of a kit: included batteries and charging gear make a set easier to start with; tool-only options suit buyers who already own compatible batteries.
| power tool brand | Voltage | Battery type | Warranty | Batteries included |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX Drill & H | 12V | Lithium-ion | 2-year limited | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tools | 20V | Lithium-ion | — | 2 |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impac | 20V | Lithium-ion | 3 years | 2 |
| Greenworks 24V Cordless Brushl | 24V | — | 3-year limited | — |
| BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX PowerConn | 20V | — | — | — |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX Cordless Pow | 20 volts | Lithium-ion | 3-year limited warranty | 2 |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill | 20 volts | Lithium-ion | 3-year limited warranty | 2 |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Power Tool Combo | 20V MAX | Lithium-ion | 3 years | 2 |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Power To | 20 volts | Lithium-ion | — | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating | 20 volts | Lithium-ion | 3 years | 1 |
| 180W Rotary Tool Kit with 139p | 120V | — | — | — |
| Seesii Impact Wrench 665 FT-LB | — | — | — | — |
| BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Power Too | — | Lithium-ion | — | 2 |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating | 20V | — | 3-year limited warranty | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX Drill & Home Tool Kit, 60-Piece
This BLACK+DECKER kit is a practical entry point for small household jobs: its 12V drill is compact to handle, while the included hand tools mean a new homeowner can tackle basic fixes without assembling a separate toolkit. The LED work light and carrying bag add convenience for closets, shelves, and quick repairs. Compared with the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX drill kit in this lineup, this set trades higher voltage and a larger accessory selection for a broader mix of hand tools and an easy-to-store package. That makes it more useful as a starter household kit than as a platform for demanding drilling. Its main limits are modest power and a battery that may not last through extended work, so I would skip it for frequent construction tasks or long sessions.
Pros:- Compact drill with a mid-handle design for easier control in tight household spaces
- Includes 59 hand tools alongside the drill for a range of basic repairs
- Lithium-ion battery is described as holding its charge for up to 18 months
- Carrying bag keeps the kit portable and together between jobs
Cons:- 12V power is a poor fit for demanding or heavy-duty drilling
- Battery capacity may fall short during prolonged use
- Less suitable as a long-term power-tool platform than the 20V options in this roundup
Best for: First-time homeowners and renters who want one compact kit for occasional household repairs and basic DIY.
Not ideal for: Frequent renovators or anyone drilling large holes or working through long sessions, since the 12V drill and limited battery capacity are better suited to lighter tasks.
- Voltage:12V
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Chuck size:0.5 in.
- Torque:25 N·m
- Drill type:Basic drill
- Included tools:Drill and 59 hand tools
- Warranty:2-year limited
Our verdict“Choose this BLACK+DECKER kit if you want an approachable household starter set more than a drill for demanding work.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tools, 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit with Batteries and Charger
This DEWALT kit is the broadest route in this group to covering varied jobsite tasks: nine cordless tools span drilling, impact driving, cutting, and grinding, reducing the need to buy separate tools as projects expand. It makes more sense for a working DIYer or trade user who will put several tools to use than for someone who mainly needs a drill. Compared with the DEWALT DCK277D2 drill-and-impact combo, this set gives up some simplicity and portability in exchange for far more task coverage. The two 20V batteries and charger help support a shared cordless setup, while the included Bluetooth speaker is a jobsite extra rather than a substitute for core capability. The tradeoff is bulk: multiple tools and batteries add weight, and the data does not specify battery capacity, so extended heavy use may still call for spare batteries.
Pros:- Nine tools cover a wide range of common jobsite applications
- Two lithium-ion batteries and a charger are included
- Quick-change systems simplify blade and attachment changes
- Bluetooth speaker adds an extra convenience for jobsite use
Cons:- Multiple tools and batteries make the kit heavy to transport
- Battery life may not support extended heavy-duty work without additional batteries
- Broad tool coverage may be unnecessary for buyers with only occasional repair needs
Best for: DIY renovators and tradespeople who regularly switch among drilling, driving, cutting, and grinding and want a broad DEWALT 20V toolkit.
Not ideal for: Occasional users or buyers who need only a drill and driver; the nine-tool set is heavier and more equipment than those jobs require.
- Voltage:20V
- Tools included:9
- Batteries included:2
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Amperage:2A
- Maximum rotational speed:7,000 rpm
- Power source:Battery-powered
Our verdict“Pick this DEWALT set if you will use its range of tools regularly and want one broad cordless lineup rather than a compact drill-and-driver combo.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver (DCK277D2)
For buyers who need dependable drilling and fastening without carrying a large multi-tool set, this DEWALT combo keeps the kit focused: a drill/driver and impact driver handle two frequent tasks, and the compact, ergonomic design suits work in tight spaces. The included pair of batteries, charger, and contractor bag make it a more job-ready option than the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX single-drill kit, which is better oriented toward lighter home projects and accessory variety. Its 20V platform and stated 1,500 in-lb torque give it a stronger fastening focus, but a two-tool set cannot replace the cutting and grinding tools in DEWALT’s nine-tool combo. Battery life may also constrain extended heavy-duty work. I would choose this when portability and a capable drill-and-driver pairing matter more than getting the widest tool selection in one kit.
Pros:- Drill/driver and impact driver cover common drilling and fastening needs
- Lightweight, ergonomic design is suited to tight spaces
- Includes two lithium-ion batteries, a charger, and a contractor bag
- 20V system and stated high torque support more demanding fastening than the 12V BLACK+DECKER kit
Cons:- Two-tool selection does not provide the task range of DEWALT’s nine-tool combo
- Battery life may be limited during extended heavy-duty use
- Buyers needing more accessories may need to add them separately
Best for: DIY renovators and tradespeople who often drill and drive fasteners in confined spaces and want a portable two-tool DEWALT kit.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a broad set for cutting and grinding, or those who need batteries for extended heavy-duty work without pausing to recharge.
- Voltage:20V
- Included tools:DCD777 drill/driver and DCF787 impact driver
- Torque:1,500 in-lb
- Maximum rotational speed:2,800 rpm
- Batteries included:2
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Included accessories:Charger and contractor bag
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose this DEWALT combo for a portable, focused drill-and-impact-driver setup rather than a complete workshop kit.”
Greenworks 24V Cordless Brushless Drill/Impact Driver Combo Kit
This Greenworks combo’s case is strongest for buyers already invested in its 24V tool platform: compatibility with more than 200 Greenworks 24V tools can make the included batteries useful beyond drilling and fastening. The brushless motor, drill torque of 400 in-lb, and impact-driver torque of 1,950 in-lb give this pair a more performance-led spec profile than the BLACK+DECKER 20V drill kit, which is aimed at lighter home projects. A 65W USB-C fast charger is another practical distinction for users who value modern charging. The two 2.0Ah batteries, however, may be limiting for continuous heavy work, and these batteries are tied to Greenworks’ 24V system rather than the DEWALT 20V lineup. I would favor it for a Greenworks owner, but buyers choosing a first platform should compare tool availability and their existing battery ecosystem.
Pros:- Brushless motor paired with strong stated drill and impact-driver torque
- Two included 2.0Ah batteries support swapping between tools
- 65W USB-C fast charger offers a modern charging option
- Battery compatibility extends across more than 200 Greenworks 24V tools
Cons:- The battery system is specific to compatible Greenworks 24V tools
- Two 2.0Ah batteries may be insufficient for extended heavy-duty work
- Provided data gives no detail on variable-speed settings beyond basic controls
Best for: Greenworks 24V owners who want a brushless drill-and-impact-driver pair that can share batteries across a broad compatible tool lineup.
Not ideal for: Buyers already committed to DEWALT or another battery platform, and users who need long stretches of heavy-duty work from each charge.
- Voltage:24V
- Drill torque:400 in-lb
- Impact-driver torque:1,950 in-lb
- Drill speed:0–2,000 rpm
- Impact-driver speed:3,400 rpm
- Batteries:2 × 2.0Ah
- Charger:65W USB-C fast charger
- Battery compatibility:More than 200 Greenworks 24V tools
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose this kit if you already own Greenworks 24V tools and want brushless drilling and driving without switching battery platforms.”
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX PowerConnect Cordless Drill Driver Kit with 100-Piece Bit Set, Battery & Charger Included
This BLACK+DECKER kit is aimed at homeowners who want a single drill, a large assortment of bits, and straightforward control for routine repairs. Its 24-position clutch helps limit overdriving screws, while the 100-piece accessory set gives beginners more options at hand than the smaller hand-tool-focused 12V BLACK+DECKER kit. Compared with DEWALT’s DCK277D2, though, this is a simpler single-drill setup: it lacks a dedicated impact driver and has a stated maximum torque of 150 in-lb, so repeated heavy fastening is outside its sweet spot. The 20V battery platform adds flexibility across compatible POWERCONNECT tools, but the included 1.5Ah battery can require more frequent recharging during sustained work. I see it as an accessible home-repair kit, not a substitute for a higher-output combo used on demanding projects.
Pros:- 100-piece accessory set covers a range of common drilling and driving tasks
- 24-position clutch supports more controlled screw driving
- Compatible with the BLACK+DECKER POWERCONNECT battery system
- Two-speed design offers a choice between speed and control
Cons:- 150 in-lb maximum torque is limited for heavy-duty fastening
- Included 1.5Ah battery may need frequent recharging during extended work
- Single-drill format lacks the dedicated impact driver included with DEWALT’s DCK277D2
Best for: Homeowners and beginner DIYers who want a single drill, a generous assortment of bits, and clutch control for occasional repairs.
Not ideal for: Builders or frequent remodelers who need high torque, an impact driver, or longer runtime for sustained drilling and fastening.
- Voltage:20V
- Maximum torque:150 in-lb
- Maximum rotational speed:650 rpm
- Speed settings:2
- Clutch:24 positions
- Battery capacity:1.5Ah
- Chuck size:10 mm
- Included components:Drill/driver, battery, charger, bits, sockets, and case
Our verdict“Pick this BLACK+DECKER kit for accessory-rich, occasional home repairs, but choose a drill-and-impact combo for tougher or frequent work.”
CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX Cordless Power Tool Kit, Circular Saw with 6 1/2 inch Blade, Impact Driver, Drill/Driver, LED Task Light, Battery and Charger Included
The CRAFTSMAN V20 four-tool kit covers common home-project needs with a drill/driver, impact driver, circular saw and LED task light. Compared with the larger CRAFTSMAN V20 seven-tool set, it skips specialty tools such as a grinder and oscillating tool, so it is easier to justify if you mainly drill, drive and make basic cuts. Two batteries let you keep working while one charges, though the kit offers less tool breadth than that seven-piece option. The 20V battery platform also gives buyers a route to compatible CRAFTSMAN tools. Its tradeoffs are limited battery capacity information and no listed storage case; for frequent, heavy cutting or long work sessions, a more extensive kit or spare batteries may suit better.
Pros:- Includes four practical tools for drilling, fastening, basic sawing and task lighting
- Two lithium-ion batteries allow one pack to charge while the other is in use
- 20V platform can support future compatible CRAFTSMAN tool purchases
- Three-year limited warranty
Cons:- Does not include the grinder, reciprocating saw or oscillating tool found in the CRAFTSMAN seven-tool kit
- Battery capacity and runtime are not specified, which makes planning extended work harder
- No storage case is listed
Best for: Homeowners and first-time cordless-tool buyers who need a drill, driver and circular saw for repairs, furniture assembly and occasional cutting.
Not ideal for: Tradespeople or frequent remodelers who need specialty tools, longer runtimes or a listed case for carrying and organizing the kit.
- Voltage:20 volts
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries included:2
- Maximum rotational speed:4,200 rpm
- Item weight:16.9 pounds
- Included tools:Drill/driver, impact driver, circular saw and LED task light
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose this CRAFTSMAN kit for a focused set of everyday home tools, but opt for the seven-tool version if you need broader project coverage.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit, Includes 2 Batteries, Charger, and Bag
For buyers who want capable fastening tools without committing to a multi-tool bundle, the DEWALT 20V MAX drill and impact driver kit keeps the focus on two jobs. Its compact design is suited to cabinets, framing and other tight-access work, while the listed 1,700 in-lb torque gives the impact driver muscle for demanding fastening. Two batteries, a charger and a storage bag make this more portable and ready to carry than the broader DEWALT five-tool kit, which adds cutting and oscillating tools but weighs more. The tradeoff is clear: this set cannot handle those other tasks without additional tools, and the impact driver may feel tiring during prolonged use. It makes the most sense for buyers who value a compact DEWALT platform start over maximum tool variety.
Pros:- Compact design is suited to tight spaces and overhead tasks
- Listed 1,700 in-lb torque supports demanding fastening jobs
- Includes two lithium-ion batteries and a charger
- Storage bag makes the kit easier to carry than a loose tool bundle
Cons:- Limited to a drill and impact driver, unlike the DEWALT five-tool combo
- Impact driver weight may cause fatigue during prolonged use
- Battery capacity and runtime are not specified
Best for: DIYers and trade workers who regularly drill and fasten in confined spaces and want a portable DEWALT kit with two batteries.
Not ideal for: Buyers setting up for varied renovation work who need a saw or oscillating tool included rather than purchased separately.
- Power source:Battery powered
- Voltage:20 volts
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries included:2
- Torque:1,700 in-lb
- Item weight:3.6 pounds
- Dimensions:15.06 x 6.38 x 9.88 inches
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Pick this DEWALT combo if compact drilling and fastening matter more than having saws and specialty tools in the same kit.”
CRAFTSMAN V20 Power Tool Combo Kit, 7-Tool Cordless Set with 2 Batteries and Charger
The CRAFTSMAN V20 seven-tool kit is the broadest CRAFTSMAN bundle here: it includes a drill, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, oscillating tool, grinder and LED task light. That spread lets a homeowner take on cutting, fastening, surface work and grinding without building a kit one tool at a time. Compared with the four-tool CRAFTSMAN set, the extra equipment expands what the bundle can do, but also adds bulk and can make long sessions more tiring. Two batteries help keep jobs moving, yet the supplied details do not state their capacity, and every included tool draws from the same 20V MAX system. Buyers who mainly need drilling and basic cuts may be better served by the smaller four-tool option; this set favors breadth over a lighter, simpler loadout.
Pros:- Seven tools cover drilling, fastening, cutting, grinding and oscillating tasks
- Includes two batteries and a charger
- Tool-free blade and accessory changes simplify switching tasks
- Three-year warranty
Cons:- The seven-tool bundle can be tiring to carry or use over long sessions
- Battery capacity and runtime are not specified
- All tools are tied to the CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX battery platform
Best for: DIY renovators and property maintainers who need several types of cordless tools for varied repair and remodeling tasks.
Not ideal for: Occasional users who only need a drill and driver, or anyone prioritizing a lighter kit with fewer tools to store.
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries included:2
- Power source:Battery powered
- Included tools:Drill, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, oscillating tool, grinder and LED task light
- Blade and accessory changes:Tool-free
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose this CRAFTSMAN set when tool variety is the priority; the four-tool kit is a better fit for simpler home maintenance.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Power Tools Combo Kit, Includes Drill, Impact Driver, Reciprocating Saw, Circular Saw, Oscillating Tool, 5Ah Battery and Charger
This DEWALT 20V MAX five-tool kit balances everyday drilling and fastening with three useful cutting or detail tools: a reciprocating saw, circular saw and oscillating tool. Compared with the CRAFTSMAN seven-tool set, it includes fewer tools and leaves out a grinder, which may appeal to buyers who want a more focused DEWALT lineup. The supplied data lists one battery, while the title specifies a 5Ah battery and the included-components field says 2Ah; that discrepancy makes the battery configuration worth checking before purchase. Its 21.4-pound listed weight also points to a substantial bundle, not a nimble carry-around kit. Choose it for a DEWALT multi-tool foundation, but not if you need a clear spare-battery setup or a lighter package.
Pros:- Five tools cover drilling, fastening, reciprocating cuts, circular cuts and detail work
- Includes a charger and a DEWALT 20V MAX lithium-ion battery
- Listed 1,500 in-lb torque supports substantial fastening tasks
- Provides a DEWALT platform starting point across several job types
Cons:- Only one battery is listed, limiting ready-to-use backup capacity
- Battery capacity conflicts between the product title and included-components data
- At 21.4 pounds, the kit may be cumbersome to carry or manage for extended sessions
Best for: DIY renovators and working users who want DEWALT drilling, fastening and cutting tools together for mixed project work.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need multiple batteries for uninterrupted work, a lighter kit, or certainty about the included battery capacity without verifying the listing.
- Voltage:20 volts
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries listed:1
- Torque:1,500 in-lb
- Item weight:21.4 pounds
- Included tools:Drill/driver, impact driver, oscillating multi-tool, reciprocating saw and circular saw
- Included power components:Charger and battery; capacity is inconsistent across the supplied product details
Our verdict“Choose this DEWALT bundle for a five-tool mix of fastening and cutting, but verify the battery details and plan for the kit’s weight.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool, Battery and Charger Included
Unlike the DEWALT five-tool combo, this 20V MAX XR oscillating tool is a focused purchase for flush cuts, sanding and other detail work rather than a general tool collection. Its brushless motor and three speed settings give buyers control over different materials and tasks, while the quick-change system and universal accessory adapter make switching attachments less of a chore. The listed 28 attachments and included 2.0Ah battery and charger mean it can be used without first owning a DEWALT battery. That convenience comes with a limit: one battery may interrupt longer jobs, and the 2.3-pound tool can feel heavy during sustained overhead work. Choose this kit for a ready-to-use specialist; existing DEWALT owners may prefer the tool-only XR version mentioned elsewhere in the roundup.
Pros:- Brushless motor paired with three speed settings supports varied applications
- Includes 28 attachments and a universal accessory adapter
- Quick-change system helps speed up accessory swaps
- Battery, charger and LED illumination are included
Cons:- Only one 2.0Ah battery is included, which can limit continuous work
- The 2.3-pound tool may cause fatigue during prolonged overhead use
- A bundled battery and charger may be redundant for buyers who already own compatible DEWALT packs
Best for: DIYers who need a ready-to-run oscillating tool for trim cuts, sanding and repair work, especially if they do not already own a DEWALT battery.
Not ideal for: Existing DEWALT 20V MAX owners who already have batteries, or users who expect long continuous work from a single included pack.
- Model number:DCS356D1
- Voltage:20 volts
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries included:1
- Item weight:2.3 pounds
- Included components:Oscillating tool, battery, charger, depth guide, sanding pad, universal accessory adapter, blades and sandpaper
- Included attachments:28
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose this DEWALT XR kit for a ready-to-use oscillating tool with broad accessory options, but look at a tool-only model if you already own batteries.”
180W Rotary Tool Kit with 139pcs Accessories, Variable Speed 8000-32000RPM, Flex Shaft, Power Multi-Use Set for Crafting and DIY
This rotary tool kit earns its place for buyers who need a single-purpose tool with a broad accessory range, rather than another drill-and-saw bundle. Its 8,000–32,000 RPM variable speed covers tasks from slower polishing to faster cutting, while the flexible shaft can make intricate work and tight corners easier to reach. The 139 included accessories offer more variety out of the box than the DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool, which is aimed at cutting, sanding, and scraping with blades rather than fine rotary tasks. The tradeoff is a corded 120V setup, so it lacks the mobility of that cordless DEWALT. The large accessory assortment may also be excessive for occasional basic jobs, and the chuck requires spanner tightening before use.
Pros:- Variable speed from 8,000 to 32,000 RPM supports a range of small cutting, grinding, polishing, and engraving tasks.
- Flexible shaft helps reach corners and handle detailed work.
- 139-piece accessory set provides multiple bits and attachments for varied projects.
- 180W motor and stated heat-dissipation design suit repeated DIY tasks.
Cons:- Corded 120V operation limits use away from an outlet.
- The chuck needs spanner tightening before first use.
- The large accessory assortment may be overwhelming for buyers with basic needs.
Best for: Crafters and DIYers doing engraving, polishing, small cuts, or detail work who want a flexible shaft and assorted accessories in one kit.
Not ideal for: People who need cordless mobility, mainly make flush cuts or sand larger surfaces, or want a simple starter tool with few accessories.
- Power:180W
- Voltage:120V
- Power source:AC
- Speed range:8,000–32,000 RPM
- Accessories:139 pieces
- Included attachments:Flexible shaft, drill locator, cover shield, wrench, storage box, and assorted bits and discs
- Dimensions:9.25 x 1.85 x 2.05 inches
Our verdict“Choose this corded kit for varied craft and detail work; pick the cordless DEWALT oscillating tool instead for broader cutting and sanding with battery-powered mobility.”
Seesii Impact Wrench 665 FT-LBS (900 N.m) Cordless High Torque Impact Gun with 21V 2×4.0Ah Batteries, 6 Sockets & Case
For wheel changes and other stubborn fasteners, this Seesii is the lineup’s dedicated high-torque impact wrench, not a substitute for a drill or compact impact driver. Its listed 665 ft-lb loosening torque and 21V platform target heavier fastening jobs than the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX four-tool combo, whose drill, saws, and work light better serve general home projects. Two 4.0Ah batteries and a stated rapid-charge time help keep work moving, while the six included sockets cover several common sizes. That bundle still has limits: the socket selection is basic, and buyers tackling long heavy-duty sessions may want additional batteries. At 5.6 pounds, it also brings substantial weight for overhead or prolonged work. Choose it for demanding fasteners, not all-day lightweight handling.
Pros:- Listed 665 ft-lb loosening torque is suited to stubborn automotive and construction fasteners.
- Two 21V 4.0Ah batteries support longer work sessions than a single-battery kit.
- Includes six sockets, a case, LED work light, and variable-speed trigger.
- Auto-stop and cooling-fan features add control and thermal protection.
Cons:- At 5.6 pounds, it can tire users during prolonged or overhead work.
- The included six socket sizes may not cover every vehicle or job.
- Extended heavy-duty use may outlast the supplied battery capacity.
Best for: Home mechanics and construction DIYers who regularly remove tight fasteners and want a cordless wrench with two batteries and common sockets included.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a lightweight everyday driver, a broad socket selection, or a single battery system for general household tools.
- Maximum loosening torque:665 ft-lb (900 N·m)
- Tightening torque:579 ft-lb (800 N·m)
- Impact rate:3,300 IPM
- No-load speed:2,400 RPM
- Battery system:21V; two 4.0Ah batteries
- Charging time:About 30 minutes to 80%
- Weight:5.6 pounds
- Included sockets:14mm, 17mm, 18mm, 19mm, 21mm, and 22mm
Our verdict“Pick this Seesii for cordless high-torque fastening and occasional automotive work, but choose a lighter driver for frequent general-purpose use.”
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Power Tool Combo Kit, 4-Tool Cordless Set with 2 Batteries and Charger
This BLACK+DECKER kit is a practical entry point for DIYers who want four distinct tools in one cordless set: a drill/driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, and work light. The two batteries reduce interruptions compared with a single-battery starter kit, and the mix covers basic drilling and rough cutting without requiring separate tool purchases. It is more of a general home-project package than the DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool, which focuses on precise cutting, sanding, and grinding rather than providing a collection of tools. The tradeoff is capability: this kit is described for DIY work, not professional workloads, and its batteries may fall short on larger projects. The 20V platform also ties future purchases to BLACK+DECKER-compatible batteries, so buyers should weigh the whole system, not just the four-tool count.
Pros:- Combines a drill/driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, and work light.
- Includes two 20V lithium-ion batteries and a charger.
- Cordless tools offer flexibility around the home and jobsite.
- The varied tool mix covers more basic tasks than a single-tool purchase.
Cons:- DIY-focused tools may lack the power and endurance needed for professional workloads.
- Battery runtime may be limiting on large or demanding projects.
- The 20V battery system is not compatible with other brands’ platforms.
Best for: First-time homeowners and occasional DIYers who need a drill, two types of saw, and a work light for small repairs and basic projects.
Not ideal for: Trade professionals, frequent users handling large cutting jobs, or buyers already invested in another battery platform.
- Battery voltage:20V
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries included:2
- Tools included:Drill/driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, and work light
- Maximum rotational speed:650 RPM
- Item weight:14 pounds
Our verdict“Choose this kit to cover varied home projects with one cordless set; skip it if your work demands professional-grade output or sustained runtime.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool Cordless with LED Light, Brushless Motor, Variable Speed, Includes 2 Wood Blades (Tool Only)
This DEWALT is the focused choice for buyers who need controlled cutting, sanding, or grinding in places where a circular saw or larger sander cannot fit. Its brushless motor is designed to use battery power efficiently, while the three-speed selector lets users match the tool’s action to different materials and tasks. The LED light helps illuminate tight or dim work areas, and the universal adapter broadens accessory options. Compared with the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX four-tool combo, this is far less versatile as a package but more specialized for close-in work and accessory changes. Its main drawback is what the box leaves out: battery, charger, and guide system are sold separately. It makes the most sense for DEWALT 20V owners who want a dedicated multi-tool, rather than buyers starting a cordless collection.
Pros:- Brushless motor is designed to extend runtime compared with a brushed design.
- Three-speed selector helps tailor operation to different tasks.
- Quick-change system and universal adapter simplify accessory swaps and broaden compatibility.
- LED light improves visibility in dim workspaces.
Cons:- Battery and charger are not included.
- Only two wood blades are supplied, so other accessories may be needed.
- A guide system is sold separately.
Best for: DEWALT 20V users who need a compact tool for close-in cuts, sanding, or grinding and value brushless operation and quick accessory changes.
Not ideal for: Buyers without compatible DEWALT batteries, people who need a complete starter kit, or those seeking a full-size saw for long straight cuts.
- Voltage:20V
- Power source:Battery powered
- Maximum rotational speed:20,000 RPM
- Motor:Brushless
- Speed control:3-speed selector
- Weight:2.4 pounds
- Included components:Multi-tool and two wood blades
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose this DEWALT as a capable add-on for an existing 20V battery system; buy a battery-included kit if you are starting from scratch.”

How We Picked
I compared the 14 listings by the role they can fill: a starter set, a general-purpose cordless platform, a multi-tool kit, or a specialty tool for a narrower task. The ranking favors breadth, practical usefulness across common projects, included batteries and chargers, and the likelihood that a buyer can add compatible tools later. I also weighed usability and the cost of commitment in a non-price sense: a larger kit can reduce the need for separate purchases, but it can leave buyers with tools they rarely use.
DEWALT ranks highest because this roundup includes the widest selection of drill, driver, saw, and oscillating-tool options, including both compact combos and larger kits. CRAFTSMAN follows for buyers who want broader sets, while BLACK+DECKER stands out for approachable home-use kits. Greenworks and the specialty listings rank for particular needs rather than as all-purpose brand choices. A listing with fewer tools is not automatically worse; it ranks lower as a brand recommendation when it offers less evidence of a broad, expandable lineup in this specific selection.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Power Tool Brands
Choosing among these brands is less about a single headline specification and more about the work you expect to do over the next few years. I would start with your most frequent tasks, then check how the battery platform, kit contents, and service needs fit those tasks. These points can help prevent buying a large set for the wrong reasons or choosing a one-off tool that does not fit your other equipment.
Start With the Battery Platform, Not the Tool Count
A cordless platform can shape every purchase after the first kit, since compatible batteries may work across several tools from the same system. Before choosing a brand, list the next two or three tools you are likely to need and check whether that lineup exists within the platform. Avoid treating a large number of included tools as automatic value if they do not match your jobs. Buyers who already own batteries should confirm compatibility rather than assume that similar voltage labels mean the packs interchange. A starter kit with a battery and charger can be convenient, while a tool-only purchase can reduce duplication for an established platform owner. The better choice is the system you can realistically build around, not the one with the longest kit list.
Match Kit Size to the Jobs You Actually Do
Drilling and driving cover many household tasks, but saws and oscillating tools add bulk and complexity if you rarely cut or trim materials. A small combo is easier to store and simpler to learn; a larger set makes more sense when multiple tools will see regular use. Think through a typical month of projects rather than imagining an ambitious renovation that may never happen. One common mistake is buying a broad kit because it seems future-proof, then leaving most of its contents unused. If you are unsure, prioritize a dependable drill and driver setup and add task-specific tools when a real project calls for them. This approach also makes it easier to identify which brand platform suits your work.
Check What Is Included Before Comparing Kits
Two kits with similar tool names can differ in battery count, charger inclusion, accessories, and whether the listing is for a bare tool. Those details affect how quickly you can start work and whether the set is ready for longer sessions. A second battery can reduce downtime, while a tool-only option may be the sensible pick for someone who already has compatible packs. Do not assume a bit set or blade assortment covers every material or task you have in mind. Check the tool models and included accessories against your project list, especially when a kit combines several categories of equipment. That small check can prevent paying for duplicate charging gear or discovering a missing component after delivery.
Choose Performance for Your Materials and Workload
A homeowner assembling furniture has different needs from someone drilling frequently into dense materials or cutting sheet goods. Brushless motors, higher-capacity batteries, and heavier-duty tools can matter when workloads are sustained, but they may add weight and expense without helping occasional jobs. For extended use, consider tool balance, grip, battery weight, and how often you can pause to recharge. For intermittent repairs, simplicity and a manageable kit may be more useful than maximum output. Specialty tools such as an impact wrench or rotary tool should be chosen for their intended task, not as substitutes for a drill or driver. Match the tool category to the fasteners, materials, and access constraints you face.
Budget for Batteries, Maintenance, and Replacement
The purchase is only one part of owning a cordless system. Batteries age, accessories wear, and a tool that sees frequent use may eventually need service or replacement. Before committing to a brand, check whether replacement batteries, blades, and other consumables are easy to source in your area. A broad platform can make future tool additions easier, but the value depends on whether those additions are tools you will use. For a less frequent DIY workload, a straightforward kit may be a better fit than investing heavily in a system with capabilities you will not tap. Consider storage and upkeep too: more tools also mean more batteries to charge, protect, and keep organized.
Pay More Only When the Upgrade Solves a Real Problem
A premium or larger kit is most useful when it saves time, expands the jobs you can take on, or gives you a tool you would otherwise need to buy separately. Extra capacity is less persuasive if the kit duplicates equipment or adds tools that sit unused. Compare the specific components you need, not just the number of pieces in the box. Buyers doing occasional repairs may be better served by a basic drill kit and a separate specialty tool when needed. Frequent DIYers and tradespeople may value platform depth, compatible batteries, and a broader range of tool types more highly. I would pay for an upgrade when it improves a regular task, not simply because the specification sounds more advanced.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I choose a DEWALT multi-tool kit or a smaller drill-and-driver combo?
Choose a multi-tool kit if you already expect to use its saws or oscillating tool for planned projects, not just because it contains more equipment. A drill-and-driver combo is a more focused start for fastening, furniture assembly, and routine repairs. In this roundup, DEWALT offers both types, so the decision can be based on your workload rather than leaving the brand platform. Check how many batteries and which accessories are included, since those details affect how ready the set is for extended work. If you are new to power tools, a smaller kit can also make storage and learning easier.
Are BLACK+DECKER kits suitable as a first power tool purchase?
They can suit first-time buyers whose projects mainly involve household fixes, basic drilling, and light DIY. The smaller kits provide a less complicated starting point than a large collection of saws and specialty tools. Compare the included pieces carefully: a bit set may help with common tasks, but it does not make a drill kit a substitute for a saw or impact wrench. If you expect frequent renovation work or want to add a broad range of tools, compare the platform depth with DEWALT and CRAFTSMAN before committing. The best starter set is one that covers your real projects without adding equipment you will not use.
Does a tool-only listing make sense if I do not own that brand’s batteries?
Usually, a tool-only listing is most practical when you already have compatible batteries and a charger. Starting from scratch can mean buying those separately, which changes the overall value and convenience of the purchase. Confirm the exact battery platform and compatibility rather than relying on a brand name or voltage alone. In this roundup, one DEWALT oscillating tool listing includes a battery and charger, while another is sold as a bare tool, so the contents are not interchangeable assumptions. If you are building a system, compare the complete setup you need, not just the tool in the headline.
Can an impact wrench replace a drill and impact driver?
No; an impact wrench is designed for high-torque fastening tasks such as loosening or tightening larger nuts and bolts, while drills and impact drivers serve different drilling and screw-driving jobs. The Seesii listing is a specialty option in this roundup, not a general starter set. Using the wrong tool can make a task harder or risk damaging fasteners and materials. If your work is mainly furniture, shelves, or household repairs, a drill-and-driver combo is usually a more versatile first purchase. Choose an impact wrench when your projects specifically call for its type of fastening power.
How do I decide between a rotary tool and an oscillating multi-tool?
Think about the size and shape of the work. A rotary tool is aimed at detailed, small-scale tasks such as crafting, fine shaping, and accessory-based work, while an oscillating multi-tool is better suited to flush cuts, trimming, and certain repair jobs around a home. Their accessories and handling differ, so one is not a direct replacement for the other. The rotary kit in this roundup includes a broad accessory assortment, while the DEWALT oscillating options belong to a cordless tool platform. If you already own compatible batteries, that can favor the oscillating tool; for detailed bench work, the rotary format may fit better.
Conclusion
For the best overall brand choice in this roundup, I recommend DEWALT: its mix of compact combos, larger kits, and standalone tools gives buyers the clearest path from a first purchase to a broader setup. Best value for home projects goes to BLACK+DECKER, especially for buyers who need a practical drill kit rather than an extensive tool collection. Best for beginners is also BLACK+DECKER for straightforward repairs, while CRAFTSMAN is a stronger fit for DIYers who want multiple tool types in one set. For a premium, expandable platform, I would choose DEWALT, with the specific kit size matched to the work rather than the largest set by default. For specialized needs, pick the Greenworks drill-and-driver combo if its platform fits your plans, the Seesii for impact-wrench jobs, or the rotary tool for fine craft and detail work. The right choice is the brand and kit that cover your recurring tasks without making you pay—in space, setup, or unused tools—for capabilities you do not need.

















