TL;DR
Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Amazon has updated two Echo speakers with features that extend beyond audio: the $249.99 Echo Studio with Home Camera adds live in-home monitoring, and the $99.99 Echo Dot adds a smart home hub and an Eero Wi-Fi extender for compatible networks. Amazon says the Dot extender can add up to 1,000 square feet of coverage to an existing Eero network; availability details are not provided in the source report.
Amazon has added new smart home functions to two Echo speakers: the Echo Studio with Home Camera can provide live in-home monitoring, while the updated Echo Dot includes a smart home hub and an Eero Wi-Fi extender. The changes give the speakers roles in home security, device control and network coverage alongside their usual audio and Alexa functions.
The Echo Studio with Home Camera costs $249.99 and comes in Graphite, according to CNET’s report from Amazon’s launch event. The camera offers a live view intended for checking on family members or pets. CNET reported that Amazon describes the camera as giving Alexa visual abilities to interpret items in front of it, with examples including explaining a board game and identifying a cereal box to help with reordering. Those are Amazon’s descriptions of the feature; the report does not independently test how well it performs.
Amazon is also continuing to sell an Echo Studio without a camera, CNET reported. The camera-equipped edition retains the Studio’s audio features, including a high-excursion woofer, three full-range drivers and Dolby Atmos. The report also describes Advanced Room Adaptation, which adjusts sound to a room’s acoustics, and Adaptive Volume, which changes playback volume based on a listener’s distance. An optional stand costs $39.99.
The Echo Dot costs $99.99 and is offered in Graphite, Glacier White, Agave Green and Coral Pink. Its built-in hub is designed to connect and control compatible devices such as thermostats, lights and locks without a separate hub. The Dot also includes an Eero Wi-Fi extender, which Amazon says can extend coverage by up to 1,000 square feet when added to an existing Eero network. The device uses Amazon’s AZ3 silicon for on-device processing, which the company says supports faster, more natural conversations with Alexa Plus. Amazon Kids Echo Dot versions in Octopus and Penguin designs start at $109.99.
Speakers Take On More Home Functions
The additions could make the Echo speakers more useful to households already using Alexa or Eero, while also giving Amazon more ways to connect its devices across a home. A Dot that can control compatible smart devices and extend an Eero network may reduce the need for separate equipment. The Studio’s camera combines audio playback and live monitoring in one product, although some buyers may prefer a camera-free speaker or a dedicated security camera.
These features also broaden what customers need to evaluate before buying. A camera-equipped speaker raises practical questions about where it will be placed, who can access its live view and how visual information is handled. The source report describes Amazon’s intended functions but does not provide detailed privacy settings or independent performance results.
Popular right now

Samsung 85-Inch QN70H Neo QLED 4K Smart TV (2026)

Sony BRAVIA 5 85-Inch Mini LED 4K HDR Smart TV (K-85XR50)

KitchenAid Artisan 5-Quart Tilt-Head Stand Mixer, Almond Cream
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Two Different Echo Upgrades
The announcement was part of a wider set of new and updated smart home products from Amazon this week, CNET reported. Other devices mentioned included a revamped Echo Show, Amazon’s first smart photo frame and an alarm clock with a feature that can automatically snooze when it detects deep sleep.
The two speaker updates address different needs: the Echo Studio focuses on audio and camera monitoring, while the smaller Echo Dot adds connectivity and smart home control. The Studio camera is optional at the product-line level because Amazon continues to offer a version without it. The Dot’s Wi-Fi extension, by contrast, is tied to an existing Eero network, rather than being described as a general-purpose extender for any router.
“Alexa “gains visual intelligence to make everyday experiences more personal and helpful.””
— Amazon, as quoted in CNET’s report
Availability, Privacy and Testing
The source report does not specify when the new devices will ship or whether they are available to order now. It also does not describe the camera’s privacy controls, how visual data is stored or processed, or whether the camera can be disabled independently of other Studio functions.
Amazon’s stated Wi-Fi coverage figure and descriptions of Alexa’s visual abilities are not accompanied in the report by independent tests, detailed technical conditions or a list of all compatible devices. It is also unclear which Echo Studio features are available in the camera-free version, beyond the report’s statement that it remains on sale.
Watch for Sales and Feature Details
Buyers will need to check Amazon’s product listings for availability, shipping dates and final feature details. Further information about camera controls, supported smart home devices, Alexa Plus access and the conditions behind the Eero coverage estimate would help clarify how the new functions work in everyday use. The source report does not identify a later launch date or a planned follow-up announcement.
Key Questions
Which Echo speaker has a camera?
The $249.99 Echo Studio with Home Camera adds a camera for live in-home monitoring. Amazon also continues to sell an Echo Studio version without a camera, according to CNET.
What does the updated Echo Dot add?
The $99.99 Echo Dot includes a smart home hub for compatible devices and an Eero Wi-Fi extender for an existing Eero network.
How much extra Wi-Fi coverage does Amazon claim?
Amazon says the Dot’s Eero extender can add up to 1,000 square feet of coverage to an existing Eero network. The source report does not provide independent testing or the conditions for that estimate.
When will the new speakers be available?
The source report gives prices and color options but does not specify availability or shipping dates.
What privacy details are confirmed about the Studio camera?
The report describes live monitoring and Amazon’s examples of Alexa interpreting items in view, but it does not specify camera privacy controls, data handling or storage practices.
Source: cnet.com
